Nobody Expects

“I’ve still not watched ‘The Name of the Doctor’,” Gareth was saying. “Or any of the others from the Ice Warriors one onwards. I feel I should, but I can’t summon any will to do so.”

“You should watch Cold War (because I’m interested in what you think about the new Ice Warrior) and The Crimson Horror (because it’s actually quite good),” I said. “The rest you could skip. Gosh. I just realised I recommended the two Gatiss episodes.”

“I was going to reply to that whole mail. But instead, I’m going to look at this last line in horror and then slowly walk away backwards.”

My reply:

“There are two ways to look at it.

1. His writing’s getting better.

2. The rest of the series is so abominable that ‘a bad Gatiss episode’ is better than the rest of it.

Although, thinking about it, you could also argue that he’s better off writing purposefully silly episodes. So there are three ways to look at it.

1. His writing’s getting better.

2. The rest of the series is so abominable that ‘a bad Gatiss episode’ is better than the rest of it.

3. Gatiss is in his comfort zone when writing purposefully silly episodes.

On the other hand, you could also suggest that my own standards are dropping. So there are four ways to look at it.

1. His writing’s getting better.

2. The rest of the series is so abominable that ‘a bad Gatiss episode’ is better than the rest of it.

3. Gatiss is in his comfort zone when writing purposefully silly episodes.

4. My own standards in the quality of the show have dropped.

But then there’s the question of where these episodes fit; they’re both very standalone and that’s probably part of the appeal. So amongst –

I’ll come in again.”

spanish

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Nobody Expects

  1. HAHA! To be fair, those pretty much were the best episodes of the season.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

