Eight things we’d like to see in the new series

It’s been a good day: Metro have published my first Metro blogs entry.

 

Metro

 

 

Besides the content, one incentive for clicking on the link above is that you’ll finally get to see who I am. I’ve hidden behind the reverend61 name for many years now, and will continue to use it as an online presence (there’s a considerable data trail, and I don’t know, it just feels part of me). But while there have been occasional lapses, I’ve been very careful to keep real names hidden. Part of it is security, and part of it is value judgements – the more people know about you, the easier it is for them to assess you based on who you are, rather than how you write. I’ve always liked keeping that part as obscured as possible. On the internet, no one knows you’re a dog. (Of course, everyone knows if you’re an arsehole.)

A lot of the stuff I worried about making public – child-related, mostly – has now gone private, and so I don’t feel the need to be so private anymore. To a certain extent I need to come out of the shadows a little, because it’s harder to get any recognition in the press if people don’t know who you are. So consider this an unimportant public unveiling.

I’m not deluded about this, of course. A single blog post in a free London-based newspaper does not a career in freelance writing make. But it’s a start. I believe in starts. So did the BBC, fifty-one years ago, and that’s kind of how we got here.

Categories: New Who | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

