17 faces that will be familiar to every Doctor Who fan

The other day, an old friend of mine stuck a Buzzfeed article on her timeline. It was called ‘24 Faces That Will Be Familiar To Every Feminist‘.

Did I laugh? For sure. Did I empathise? Well, of course not. If this is the way it is for women then fine; I’m not going to argue with that. I try not to get involved in gender politics if I can help it; too often I get accused of Mansplaining (whereas the truth is I have assorted online arguments with men and women and am equally condescending and patronising to both). I bring my children up to be as accommodating and reasonably-minded as they can be; beyond that I’m not sure what else I can do.

But I can turn that list into something a little closer to home, and here it is. And as with Police Academy, another installment is always on the cards.

(The list is entirely mine, but I am indebted to Stupid Faces of Doctor Who for many of the images – not the sort of Tumblr blog I’d normally follow, but these things do come in handy.)

1. When someone insists “HE’S NOT CALLED DOCTOR WHO, HE’S CALLED THE DOCTOR!”.

Faces_01

2. When you witness an argument over whether Paul McGann is ‘Classic’ or not.

Faces_02

3. “There’s only one Doctor, and it’s David Tennant.”

Faces_03

4. “The Doctor’s supposed to be young and handsome. This new one’s too old.”

Faces_04

5. When someone tells you how much they love the Rose / Tenth Doctor love story.

Faces_05

6. “It’s not real Doctor Who unless it’s Doctors 1-8. This new stuff is rubbish. It’s not proper Doctor Who. I only watched one episode.”

Faces_06

7. When you saw the Brigadier resurrected as a Cyberman.

Faces_07

8. Fan theory, generally.

Faces_08

9. “And what if Barty Crouch Jr. in that Harry Potter film was ACTUALLY THE TENTH DOCTOR?”

Faces_09

10. When someone paints Michael Grade as ‘the man who killed Doctor Who‘.

Faces_10

11. Oh look, it’s another ‘Bow ties are cool’ meme.

Faces_11

12. “Ha ha! Look at Clara slapping the Doctor! Isn’t that funny?!?”

Faces_15

13.When you meet someone who dismisses ‘Love and Monsters’ as a low point.

Faces_12

14. “If you don’t like it, you don’t have to watch it.”

Faces_13

(Yes. Yes we do.)

15. “I WILL ACCEPT THIS UNSUBSTANTIATED RUMOUR AS FACT, BECAUSE IT SUITS ME.”

Faces_14

16. God some of these Facebook groups have silly names.

Faces_16

17. “No, but Capaldi MIGHT regenerate into Smith. It could happen.”

Faces_17

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “17 faces that will be familiar to every Doctor Who fan

  1. Reblogged this on Alex Sigsworth and commented:
    I make just about all of these every day.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

